Screen Shot 2022-09-01 at 2.58.05 PM

Champion

METROPOLITAN OPERA PERFORMANCE

BROADCAST FROM THE MET: LIVE IN HD

STREAMING LIVE ON THE THT BIG SCREEN

Sat Apr 29, 2023

1:00 PM

Adult $24

Student $10

plus applicable fees

METOpera HD Broadcast - Champion

Six-time Grammy Award–winning composer Terence Blanchard brings his first opera to the Met after his Fire Shut Up in My Bones triumphantly premiered with the company to universal acclaim in 2021–22. Bass-baritone Ryan Speedo Green is the young boxer Emile Griffith, who rises from obscurity to become a world champion, and bass-baritone Eric Owens portrays Griffith’s older self, haunted by the ghosts of his past. Soprano Latonia Moore is Emelda Griffith, the boxer’s estranged mother, and mezzo- soprano Stephanie Blythe is the bar owner Kathy Hagan. Yannick Nézet-Séguin takes the podium for Blanchard’s second Met premiere, also reuniting the director-and-choreographer team of James Robinson and Camille A. Brown.

More information about Met HD Live at their WEBSITE.

The 2022-2023 Met HD Season at THT

MEDEA Saturday, October 22, 2022  12:55pm  (2 hrs 50 min)

THE HOURS Saturday, December 10, 2022  12:55pm  (2 hrs 55 min)
FEDORA Saturday, January 14, 2023  12:55pm  (2 hrs 55 min)
LOHENGRIN Saturday, March 18, 2023  12pm  (4 hr 35 min)
CHAMPION Saturday, April 29, 2023  12:55pm  (3 hrs 0 min)

Met Live in HD operas not available at Town Hall Theater can be seen at The Paramount Theater in Rutland VT.  www.paramountvt.org

LA TRAVIATA  Saturday, November 5, 2022  12:55pm  (3 hrs 0 min)
FALSTAFF Saturday, April 1, 2023 12:30pm  (2 hrs 55 min)
DER ROSENKAVALIER  Saturday, April 15, 2023  12:00pm  (4 hrs 20 min)
DON GIOVANNI  Saturday, May 20, 2023  12:55pm  (3 hr 16 min)
DIE ZAUBERFLOTE  Saturday, June 3, 2023  12:55pm  (3 hrs 5 min)

Town Hall Theater

68 South Pleasant Street

Middlebury, VT 05753

The Box Office is also open one hour prior to performances.

Champion

  • Sat Apr 29, 2023 – 1:00 PM

Adults $24

Students $10

plus applicable taxes + fees

Share this event:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email